What You Are Looking for is in the Library | Agenda Bookshop Skip to content
A01=Michiko Aoyama
Age Group_Uncategorized
Age Group_Uncategorized
Author_Michiko Aoyama
automatic-update
B06=Alison Watts
Category1=Fiction
Category=FA
Category=FYT
COP=United Kingdom
Delivery_Delivery within 2-4 working days
Language_English
new releases
PA=Available
Price_€10 to €20
PS=Active
softlaunch

What You Are Looking for is in the Library

English

By (author): Michiko Aoyama

Translated by: Alison Watts

THE TWO-MILLION-COPY BESTSELLING JAPANESE NOVEL

The Top Ten Times bestseller
A Time Magazine Book of the Year
'An undeniable page-turner'
New York Times

'I ADORED this uplifting, hopeful novel ' Daily Mail
'It made me laugh and cry and feel comforted' 5***** Reader review
'A tribute to the transformative power of books and libraries' Irish Times

An inspirational tale of the love, comfort and growth you can find in the pages of a good book.
_________________
What are you looking for?

So asks Tokyo's most enigmatic librarian, Sayuri Komachi.

But she is no ordinary librarian.

Sensing exactly what someone is searching for in life, she provides just the book recommendation to help them find it.

We meet five visitors to the library, each at a different crossroads:

- The restless retail assistant eager to pick up new skills
- The mother faced with a demotion at work after maternity leave
- The conscientious accountant who yearns to open an antique store
- The gifted young manga artist in search of motivation
- The recently retired salaryman on a quest for newfound purpose

Can she help them find what they are looking for?

Which book will you recommend?
_________________

'An undeniable page-turner' New York Times

For fans of The Midnight Library and Before the Coffee Gets Cold, this feel-good Japanese book shows how the perfect book recommendation can change a life.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE JAPAN BOOKSELLERS' AWARD

'I definitely want to visit this library. I feel kinder after this book' 5***** Reader review
'A quirky slice of feel-good fiction that you could recommend to anyone' Mail on Sunday
'Wonderful. It made me look for connection in my life' 5***** Reader review

Times bestseller, August 2023

See more
Current price €13.76
Original price €16.99
Save 19%
A01=Michiko AoyamaAge Group_UncategorizedAuthor_Michiko Aoyamaautomatic-updateB06=Alison WattsCategory1=FictionCategory=FACategory=FYTCOP=United KingdomDelivery_Delivery within 2-4 working daysLanguage_Englishnew releasesPA=AvailablePrice_€10 to €20PS=Activesoftlaunch
Delivery/Collection within 2-4 working days
Product Details
  • Weight: 188g
  • Dimensions: 128 x 198mm
  • Publication Date: 20 Jun 2024
  • Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Publication City/Country: United Kingdom
  • Language: English
  • ISBN13: 9781804994139

About Michiko Aoyama

Michiko Aoyama (Author) Michiko Aoyama was born in 1970 in Aichi Prefecture Honshu Japan. After university she became a reporter for a Japanese newspaper based in Sydney before moving back to Tokyo to work as a magazine editor. What You are Looking for is in the Library was shortlisted for the Japan Booksellers' Award was a Time Book of the Year and a New York Times Book of the Month. It has sold two million copies and is being published in over thirty territories. Her new healing fiction title Recovery Hippo will be published internationally. Aoyama lives in Yokohama Japan.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue we'll assume that you are understand this. Learn more
Accept